Prior to 1894, the Borough of East Rutherford was part of Lodi Township and its respective Fire District. This District included Boiling Springs Township (now East Rutherford, Union Township (now Rutherford), Carlstadt, Wood-Ridge and Wallington. This early fire department was supervised by a board of fire commissioners, consisting of the chief, three commissioners and three trustees who were elected by the fire department for three-year terms. In 1894, the Legislature of the State of New Jersey created the Borough of East Rutherford, which relieved the Fire District of Lodi Township from fire protection in the new Borough of East Rutherford. Since 1894, the East Rutherford Fire Department has developed a rich history of tradition and bravery, generated from the dedicated efforts of its volunteer membership.